Project 2014 in a Jar {Happiness, Positivity & Thankfulness}

Sparkle - pic from Pinterest.com

Sparkle – pic from Pinterest.com

Hope and positivity have always been important to me… it is not always an easy thing to maintain. 2013 was a year of extremes for me, there were exhilarating highs and devastating lows. Due to these lows I struggled with my anxiety and depression in different ways to previous years. Sometimes I found it really hard to reach out to others and I spent the majority of the year feeling alone, lost and sad. Despite this I tried incredibly hard to push myself if a new experience or joyful moment presented itself. What these experiences showed me, is that life can be pretty wonderful, even in the smallest and most fleeting of moments. They should and need to be celebrated.

This brings me to For the Style Seeking Girl’s 2014 project, “For the Positive Seeking Girl” a way to keep focused on the positive aspects of life including silver linings and unexpected inspiring moments. Each day I choose 3 positives from my day then upload to Instagram and Twitter with #forthepositiveseekinggirl and #threepositivesdaily, each month I will do a summary post on the blog. I am also uploading a ‘Quote of the Day’ to Instagram/Twitter/Facebook. With this project you can look forward to more positive and happy searching posts. I am hoping that people will join in – whether for one day, everyday or random days every now and then.

susn

Part two of the project is something I am very excited about! I came across the idea on Pinterest, you take a jar and decorate it {label, stickers, glitter, ribbons}.

Then for the whole of 2014, every time something happens that is good, fun, inspiring, positive or makes you smile, laugh or cry with joy, goals that you achieve, wishes that come true – write in down on a piece of paper and put it into the jar. What you end up with is a full jar of amazing experiences and moments from a full year, from big moments to the small things. There is no limit to how much or many you write. I am going to write mine on different coloured pieces of paper to make it more fun… The idea is to read them at the end of the year, but I also think when I am having difficult days I will read a couple to give inspiration. I am calling my jar ‘2014’s Sparkle’

Here is my jar:

my jar

For further memory, positive or happy jar inspirations look to Harvard Homemaker, Jaden from Steamy Kitchen or Rebecca Kelsey – don’t forget Pinterest is great for inspiration pictures and ideas too! {I just searched positivity jar}

gg jar2 jar3

What do you think of this idea? Are you doing this or something similar? Let me know if you are joining me for a brighter, more positive 2014!

Happy {early} New Year, Sarah Xo

9 thoughts on “Project 2014 in a Jar {Happiness, Positivity & Thankfulness}

  1. Pingback: 2013 in a tiny Box. | Last August Day

  2. Pingback: Day 85/365: A Memory Box | The Atidecrem Life Project

  3. Pingback: Guest Post: 100 Happy Days* | Creating Contentment

  4. Pingback: Talking Happy | Kooklah

Leave a Reply

